April 2012 Bar Bulletin
Skip Navigation Links
CLE / Education
For Lawyers
Legal Help
Special Programs
MyKCBA Login

April 2012 Bar Bulletin

KCBA Election Features Race for Second VP


The 2012 King County Bar Associ­a­tion Nominations Com­mit­tee has nominated candidates for upcoming vacancies on the Board of Trustees. This year the open positions are second vice president, secretary-trustee and two Central District trustees.

Association bylaws prescribe that the Nominations Committee must nominate at least one candidate for each vacancy, and that it must nominate only the incumbent first and second vice presidents to the next higher office. As a result, the committee has nominated First Vice President Richard Mitchell to become KCBA president and Second Vice President Anne Daly to become first vice president.

Next, the committee recommended two candidates for second vice president: Kathryn Battuello, an assistant attorney general; and Steve Rovig, a partner at Hillis Clark Martin & Peterson.

Unlike prior years, recent amendments to the KCBA bylaws no longer require that two candidates be nominated for each trustee vacancy. Thus, the committee has nominated only one candidate for each of the three trustee positions: Kastuv Das of Perkins Coie for secretary-trustee; John Chun of Summit Law Group for one of the Central District trustee seats; and Mary Anne Vance of Law Office of Mary Anne Vance for the second Central District seat.

Candidate statements for each of these individuals appear on pages 16 and 17.

An electronic election will begin April 20 and end May 3 for the second vice president position and any others that may be contested. Members will be sent a voting link via their email addresses on file with KCBA. If you do not receive an email by April 21 or if you would prefer to vote by paper ballot, please contact Janette Scott by email (janettes@kcba.org) or call 206-267-7049 for assistance.

Members may run for the officer and trustee positions, as provided in the bylaws, by filing a petition signed by at least 15 KCBA members and submitted by 5 p.m. on April 10. For more information about the petition process, contact KCBA Execu­tive Director Andrew Prazuch by email (andrewp@kcba.org) or phone (206-267-7061).

KCBA expresses its thanks to the 2012 Nominations Committee members for their efforts to recommend candidates to the membership: Chair Mark Fordham, Beth Barrett Bloom, D. Jill Pugh, Benson Wong and Michael Wrenn.

...login to read the rest of this article.

Return to Bar Bulletin Home Page

KCBA Twitter Logo KCBA Facebook Logo KCBA LinkedIn Logo KCBA Email Logo

King County Bar Association
1200 5th Ave, Suite 700
Seattle, WA 98101
Main (206) 267-7100
Fax (206) 267-7099

King County Bar Foundation Home Page

Charitable Arm of the Bar

Jewels Page

Pillars of the Bar Page

All rights reserved. All the content of this web site is copyrighted and may be reproduced in any form including digital and print
for any non-commercial purpose so long as this notice remains visible and attached hereto. View full Disclaimer.